CEMIcircles 2018-19

Results will be ancounced in October 

Call for Works (Now Closed)

The Center for Experimental Music and Intermedia (CEMI) at the University of North Texas invites
electronic music composers of all nationalities and ages to submit works for the CEMIcircles Concert
Series 2018-19.

CEMI is an interdisciplinary center focused on music and arts technologies, hosted within UNT’s
Division of Composition Studies. CEMI fosters the integration of electroacoustic music, live
performance, video/film, plastic arts, and theater. Since its 1963 inception, CEMI has evolved into a
unique creative environment, world-renowned for innovative works and musicians.

The CEMIcircles Concert Series will showcase recent computer music works in one or more events in
the MEIT - Merrill Ellis Intermedia Theatre, in the Fall 2018 and Spring 2019 (date: TBD).


Preference will be given to pieces under 12 minutes of duration. These should consist of either fixed
audio/video or live electronics with or without acoustic/electronic instruments. In the latter case,
composers must either perform their own work or provide their own performer(s).

Submitted works will be curated and selected by the CEMI personnel, with the assistance of CEMI
Director, Panayiotis Kokoras. The concert will take place in the Merrill Ellis Intermedia Theatre,
featuring a 28.3-channel audio system, three-screen immersive HD video projection, and full stage
customizable lighting including “smart light” units.

One submission per composer
Submission Fee: none
Attendance is not required but encouraged
Deadline: Friday, June 15, 2018

Please submit your application using only the online submission form.

Event Date: 
Tuesday, January 1, 2019 (All day)